The Characteristics of Stainless Steel

Stainless steel alias

Introduction to stainless steel

In Taiwan, stainless steel is commonly called white iron due to its white surface appearance and resistance to rust. It can be seen in our daily life, such as stainless steel cleaning kits, trolleys, sinks, racks, etc.Different types of stainless steels have different corrosion resistance, ductility, magnetism and workability features.

 

Stainless steel does not rust the secret

In normal air conditions, stainless steel is more resistant to rust than carbon steel. Stainless steel is not easy to rust due to the composition of chromium that would form a protective layer of chromium oxide of thickness about 10~50A (1A = 8-10u). This prevents direct contact with the air to resist corrosion. Stainless steel is an alloy composing of iron, chromium, carbon and many other elements. Therein, iron is the main constitution, followed by chromium. In stainless steel, the chromium content must at least be 11%; if not, it cannot form a protective film to resist rust, and if yes, it will resist rust.

 

The so called stainless steel #304 is composed of 18% chromium and 8% nickel, with the characteristics of non-magnetic, cannot be heat treated, and has good workability. The other category #430 is composed of 16~18% chromium with a low carbon content, and has a magnetic feature to attract ferrous objects. Stainless steel with no nickel content is cheaper and widely used in kitchen utensils, woven nets, decorations, etc. Stainless steel products are 100% recyclable and still have a remaining value even if they are used until the end of lifespan.

 

YJ Stainless,Quality Assurance

Rust-resistant #304 stainless steel materials are principally used by YJ Stainless Steel Co., Ltd. The company’s products are provided with one year warranty (under the conditions that the damages are not caused by misuse or vandalism), and a material certification (supplied by the original manufacturer). With its own factory in Taiwan, YJ produces and markets products all by itself to ensure quality, allowing customers to use them with ease.

不鏽鋼的傳奇特性與材質介紹

不鏽鋼的傳奇特性與材質介紹

認識不鏽鋼

不鏽鋼,由鐵、鉻、碳及許多元素所組成的合金,因其表面看起來白白的,且不易生銹,故台灣又稱之為「白鐵」。不鏽鋼的應用相當廣泛,生活中隨處可見,例如:不鏽鋼清潔箱、推車、水槽、製物架等。由於不銹鋼產品可達到100%回收再利用,因此即便使用到產品壽命終結,仍能保有剩餘價值。

 

透視不鏽鋼不生銹的小秘密

不鏽鋼,主要成分為鐵和鉻,不銹鋼之所以不易生銹,是因為「鉻」會於表面形成一層氧化鉻保護膜,厚度約10~50A﹝1A=8-10u﹞,使其不易與空氣接觸而有抗腐蝕的特性產生。然而,不銹鋼中的鉻含量至少要占11%才能形成保護膜,若是鉻含量不足,則無法形成保護膜,達到防銹效果。

 

你以為不鏽鋼只有一種嗎?

在一般空氣裡,不銹鋼比碳鋼更不易生銹。而不同的不銹鋼,則擁有不同的抗腐蝕性、延展性、磁性及加工性,舉例來說,正言不鏽鋼最常使用的不銹鋼304#,成分為18%鉻,加上8%鎳,特性為無磁性、無法熱處理,但加工性佳,所以常被市面廣泛使用。而另一類430#,成份為16~18%鉻,含碳量低,具有磁性,會吸磁鐵。不鏽鋼若是不含鎳的話,價格會比較低廉,因此常被運用在廚房用具、織網及飾品等產品。

 

正言不銹鋼,品質保證

正言不銹鋼所使用之材質大部份是採用較不易生鏽且加工性佳的304#,各項產品只要非人為破壞,皆可享有一年保固,並由原廠提供材質證明書,正言不銹鋼公司於國內設有工廠,自產自銷,力求給予客戶安心滿意的品質保障。