Public trash Can | Beauty and Sadness

The beauty and sorrow of public trash cans

 

The beauty of public trash cans

The quality of public trash cans is closely associated with the progress of a city. A well-known French architect said: “If you visit an unfamiliar city and use the outdoor public trash can. You don’t feel the trash can disgusting and throw the trash with your hand from a distance away but walk near the trash can and place the rubbish in it affectionately, and can’t help but turning your head to appreciate the aesthetic of the trash can reluctantly. Then you can tell yourself that you have come to a progressive city.”


 

The existence significance of public trash cans

The function of the public trash cans is not just to throw rubbish only, but also represents the image of a city street. Take Taiwan for example, the number of public trash cans is generally less than that of the advanced foreign cities, and you even have to walk quite a distance among the busy urban rods before you can spot one or two, not to mention the classification trash cans, there is none at all.

The existence of public trash cans is to facilitate the public to discard trash generated while walking. As for the rubbish in cars and the general household rubbish, they are not supposed to be thrown away. But in Taipei City, under the policy of “Pay-As-You-Throw” implemented by New Taipei City, some public would skip buying the dedicated trash bags to save money and willing to take the risk by secretly throwing household rubbish the public trash cans. The phenomenon is especially obvious during the holidays to see an explosive amount of rubbish, and dirty and chaotic scene.

 

The sorrow of public trash cans


Other than household rubbish, some public even discard kitchen waste the public trash cans. Not only will the stench and bacteria generated by the kitchen waste bring problems to the cleaning personnel, but also cause poor public perception. This is probably why anti-deodorant stainless steel material is chosen to use in most public trash cans. Not only stainless steel trash cans are strong and durable, but they can be cleaned directly when contaminated with filth and rubbish fluid to effectively reduce the problem of bacterial growth.

 

Viewing cultural standards through public trash cans

Public trash cans are not just trash cans, but also represent the image of a city. The sceneries of a beautiful city are always praised by people, but people’s impression of the city will be greatly reduced upon seeing the dirty streets. No matter how prosperous the city is, we should also cherish our public trash cans. Finally, I hope everybody would handle the public trash cans with care, and let’s maintain the beautiful urban street image to allow our city to be praised as “a progressive city” by other people.

戶外公共垃圾桶的美麗與哀愁

戶外公共垃圾桶的美麗與哀愁

 

戶外公共垃圾桶的美麗

曾在一篇文章上看到一位知名法國建築師說:「如果你拜訪一座陌生的城市,使用戶外公共垃圾桶時,並非嫌惡地伸直手遠遠將垃圾拋向桶內,而是帶著憐愛之心走近將垃圾準確放入,臨走還會轉頭依依不捨欣賞這具垃圾桶的設計之美,那麼你就可以告訴自己,來到了一座進步的城市。」

 

戶外公共垃圾桶存在的意義

公共垃圾桶的功能不只是用來丟垃圾,還代表著一個城市的街道形象;但是台灣戶外垃圾桶數量普遍來說非常少,即便在都市街道鬧區也常常要走好一段路才會看到一、二個垃圾桶,更遑論分類垃圾桶,更是連一個也沒有。

公共垃圾桶的存在,是為了方便民眾丟棄在行走間隨手產生的垃圾;至於汽車上的垃圾、一般家用垃圾是不可以拿來丟棄的。但在台北市、新北市實施「垃圾隨袋徵收」的政策之下,部分民眾為了節省購買專用垃圾袋的費用,甘願鋌而走險,偷偷將家用垃圾丟到公共垃圾桶,到了假日更常常可以看見垃圾大爆炸的骯髒亂象。

 

戶外公共垃圾桶的哀愁

除了家用垃圾之外,部分民眾甚至連廚餘也丟入公共垃圾桶中,而廚餘所產生的惡臭與細菌,不止會造成清潔人員清潔困擾,也會造成社會大眾觀感不佳。這大概也是為什麼公共垃圾桶大多挑選防臭的不鏽鋼材質。使用不鏽鋼垃圾桶,不只堅固耐用,當沾滿污垢、垃圾汁液時,不銹鋼垃圾桶可直接清洗,有效降低細菌滋生問題。

 

戶外從公共垃圾桶看文化水準

想知道一座城市水準如何,看他們的垃圾桶周遭就對了。垃圾桶不只是垃圾桶,更代表著一座城市的形象。美麗的城市風景會得到人們的讚嘆,但髒亂的街道會讓人們對城市的印象大打折扣,即便該城市多麼繁榮,當垃圾桶只是垃圾桶…

最後,希望大家好好愛惜使用公共垃圾桶,一起維持城市美麗的街道形象,讓我們的城市成為別人口中的「一座進步的城市」。