Stainless steel straw

Stainless steel straws

A video showing a straw being removed from a turtle nose has been shared by more than a million people and retransmitted, making the impact of plastic straws on the environment been gradually taken seriously by people. This has prompted the emergence of various kinds of environmental straws, in particularly wooden and bamboo straws that can be decomposed easily but they have the disadvantage of low reusability. There are also the existences of non-disposable straws that can be reused to avoid the generation of excessive waste. Now there are many kinds of non-disposable straws in different materials on the market to promote not only repetitive uses and durability, but also the intention of recycling. Therein, two of them most commonly used by everyone are glass straws and stainless steel straws.

 

The commercially available glass straws are dominated by heat-resistant glass that has no problem to use in cold and hot drinks. Other advantages include resistant to acid, alkali and corrosion, transparency nature to allow clear visibility of interior cleanliness while cleaning, environmentally friendly and hygienic. However, glass is fragile and may rupture due to hand slip or severe temperature changes, and may even cut the lip to cause bleeding in the event of a small crack. So they are not suitable for children.

 

Stainless steel straws, however, can relatively rule out the doubt on hot and cold issues, but they may generate the problems of metallic taste when used, not easy to see the internal cleanliness, etc. There are also doubts if the stainless steel material is resistant to acid and alkali, causing people to hesitate while choosing the stainless steel straws. Listed as follows are some methods to lift off these doubts.

 

First of all, the most common practices to remove the metallic taste of stainless steel and cleaning method are to clean the straws with neutral detergent for several times, or immerse the straws in hot water along with used tea leaves, and clean them with a small brush 30 minutes later. Such method will get rid of the undesirable metallic taste. While the problems if the straws are resistant to acid and alkali, and the emission of toxic substances are related to the stainless steel material. The commonly seen stainless steel materials are #200, #430, #304, #316, etc., and the commercially available stainless steel straws are mostly in #304 and #316.

 

However, stainless steel material can hardly be identified with the naked eye. The most unsuitable material to use in making stainless steel kitchen utensils is #200, which contains 16~19% chromium, 3.5~6% nickel and 5.5~10% manganese. As it has a high content of manganese which would seep out in the presence of acid or heat, it would affect the nervous system and development of human body upon long-term absorption of it. A test solution is available on the market to test “manganese” by dropping two drops of it on the stainless steel surface and set it aside. Upon contacting with manganese, the solution will change color. The faster the rate of color changing, the higher the content of manganese is.

 

The constitution of #430 includes 15~16% chromium, 6~28% nickel and 2% manganese. This stainless steel material can also be used to make stainless steel kitchen utensils, but it has the properties of poorer resistant to corrosion and rust, and not resistant to acid and alkali. It is suggested that you use a magnet to help your check in that stainless steel #430 can be attracted to a magnet.

 

The constitution of #304 includes 18% chromium, 8% nickel and 2% manganese. This stainless steel material has the properties of resistant to corrosion and rust, but not resistant to acid and alkali. It is suitable for the production of stainless steel kitchen utensils, tableware, as well as some medical equipment.

 

The constitution of #316 includes 18% chromium, 10% nickel, 2% molybdenum and 2% manganese. As compared with #304, this stainless steel material is resistant to acid and alkali, and suitable for the production of stainless steel kitchen utensils, high-end tableware, medical equipment, water sinks in chemical plants, and even beach trash cans with the merit of longer service life.

 

We often use straws in our daily life. While drinking with a straw next time, you may choose to use the above-mentioned environment-friendly straw to reduce the generation of trash, and meanwhile, create a friendly environment and avoid harming the innocent animals.

使用可重複使用的不鏽鋼/玻璃吸管,愛護地球

使用可重複使用的不鏽鋼/玻璃吸管,愛護地球

一支吸管從海龜鼻子取出的影片,經過上百萬人分享、轉發,使得塑膠吸管對環境的影響逐漸被重視,因此出現了很多種環保吸管,比較特別的像是木頭吸管及竹吸管,容易分解, 但是重複使用性較低,另外也有非一次性的吸管,重複使用,可避免製造過多的垃圾。現在市面上非一次性的吸管材質種類眾多,提倡的不只是重覆耐用,也希望可以回收再利用, 其中最常被大家使用的應該就屬於玻璃吸管跟不銹鋼吸管兩種了。

玻璃吸管使用注意事項

玻璃吸管,市售的大多都是耐熱玻璃,所以不管是要喝冷飲或熱飲都沒問題,再來就是玻璃可以耐酸鹼,不用怕有腐蝕的危險,而且在清洗上也因為他透明的特性, 可以看到內部有沒有清洗乾淨,環保的同時也兼顧衛生。但是玻璃易碎,可能會因為手滑或溫度劇烈變化而破裂,有小小的裂痕可能就會刮破嘴唇流血,比較不適合小朋友。

不鏽鋼吸管使用注意事項

不鏽鋼吸管,在使用上比較沒有冷熱上的疑慮,但可能會因為使用上有金屬味、不容易看到內部是否清洗乾淨等等的問題,或是因為不了解不銹鋼是否耐酸鹼,而在選擇上有所遲疑,以下有一些方法,希望能稍稍解除這些疑慮。

首先是去除不銹鋼的金屬味及清潔方式,最常見的做法是用中性清潔劑多清洗幾遍,或是用泡完茶的茶葉跟吸管一起浸泡熱水,三十分鐘後用小刷子清洗,就可以把大家害怕的金屬味清除了, 至於是否酸鹼及釋放毒素的問題則和不銹鋼的材質有關,常見的不銹鋼材質有200#、430#、304#、316#等等,市面上不銹鋼吸管多為304#和316#。

不鏽鋼吸管材質挑選

然而,不鏽鋼其實用肉眼很難辨識它的材質,最不適合用來製作不鏽鋼廚具的200#,其中成分包含16~19%鉻加3.5~6%鎳以及5.5~10%的錳,因為內含有過多的錳,而錳遇酸或熱會溶出, 人體長期吸收會影響神經系統及發育。市面上有檢驗「錳」的檢測液,在不銹鋼上滴兩滴後靜置,檢測液遇錳就會變色,變色的速度越快代表內部含有越高含量的錳。

430#,成分包含15~16%鉻加6~28%鎳以及2%以下的錳,也可以用來製作不鏽鋼廚具,但是這種不銹鋼耐蝕、抗銹的功能較差,更不耐酸鹼,建議大家購買的時候可以用磁鐵輔助,可以被磁鐵吸附就是430#不銹鋼了。

304#,其中成分包含18%鉻加8%鎳以及2%以下的錳,特性是耐蝕、抗銹,但是不耐酸鹼,適合用來製作不鏽鋼廚具、餐具,也有部分的醫療器具會用到這種材質的不銹鋼。

316#,其中成分包含18%鉻加10%鎳、2%鉬以及2%以下的錳,這種不銹鋼比304#多了耐酸鹼的功能,適合製作不鏽鋼廚具、高級餐具、醫療器具、化工廠用水槽,甚至在海邊的垃圾桶也建議用這種材質,拉長使用壽命。

我們在生活上常常都會用到吸管,下次在用吸管喝飲料時,可以選擇上述的環保吸管,減少垃圾的產生,友善環境,同時也可以避免無辜的動物受到傷害喔。